Property Logbooks · Filed 12 Oct 2026

Estate Agents Will Need a Licence: What the New Regulator Announcement Means (2026)

Estate, letting and managing agents in England will need a licence and qualifications under an independent regulator. No bill, no regulator and no date yet. What was announced and what to keep.

Estate Agents Will Need a Licence: What the New Regulator Announcement Means (2026)

On 29 September 2026, at the Labour Party conference in Liverpool, Housing Secretary Angela Rayner announced that the government will legislate for an independent regulator of property agents. Estate agents, letting agents and property management agents in England will need a licence and appropriate qualifications to operate, and the regulator will be able to take licences away. As of 12 October 2026 there is no bill, no named regulator, no qualification standard and no start date. What exists is a political commitment, a government statement, and a June roadmap this announcement overtakes.

What was announced on 29 September

Rayner's conference speech set out a licensing regime backed by an independent regulator. The government statement that followed said property agents would need a licence to do the job and appropriate qualifications to operate. The regulator would set codes of practice on conduct and complaints handling, and could revoke licences from agents who fall short.

Rayner framed it as consumer protection: "We will legislate for independent regulation to rein these cowboys in." The Intermediary and Property Week both report the scope as estate agents, letting agents and property management agents.

The announcement sat inside a wider housing package. Ministers will take powers to cap permission and administration fees on leasehold and privately managed estates, with a consultation on which fees and at what level. The Prime Minister, Andy Burnham, told the conference a leasehold bill would be introduced before Christmas; the draft Commonhold and Leasehold Reform Bill, published on 27 January 2026, is the bill expected to arrive. On 26 September MHCLG had announced the Your First Home scheme: a 2.5% deposit on a new-build backed by a 20% government equity loan, to be confirmed at the Budget on 28 October 2026.

What has not been decided

Propertymark listed the open questions in its 30 September conference briefing and again on 7 October. The government's own statement said further details would follow "in due course". As of 12 October 2026, none of the following is settled:

QuestionStatus as of 12 October 2026
Who the regulator isNot named. Propertymark reports early-stage discussion of an enhanced Building Safety Regulator taking an overarching role that includes agents.
Which qualifications countNot specified. The 2019 RoPA report recommended Level 3 for licensed agents and Level 4 for directors and managing agents, but government has not adopted any level.
Who pays for licencesNot announced. The Conveyancing Association has argued costs should fall on regulated members rather than the public purse.
Transitional arrangementsNot announced. Whether existing Propertymark, RICS or other qualifications and memberships will be recognised is unresolved.
Relationship to redress schemesNot announced. Agents already belong to redress schemes; how the regulator sits alongside them is an open question Propertymark has raised.
TimetableNone. No bill has been published or named. The leasehold bill promised for Christmas is a separate measure.
Scotland, Wales and Northern IrelandNot stated. The June roadmap's agent measures are England-focused; Scotland already licenses letting agents (see below).

How this changes the June roadmap

The government's Home Buying and Selling Reform roadmap, updated on 19 June 2026, took a slower, staged line on agents. It committed to a non-statutory Code of Practice "later this year", to be kept under review "with a view to mandating adherence to its provisions by legislation, if necessary". It promised a consultation on mandatory qualifications for estate and letting agents in 2027, with legislation to follow "subject to the outcome of the consultation" and "when parliamentary time allows". On wider regulation it said only that government would set out its full position "in due course".

The 29 September announcement is that position, in headline form. The direction is no longer "a code first, then see". It is licensing, qualifications and a regulator, through legislation. What has not changed is the paperwork still due this year. The voluntary Code of Practice, the listings guidance and the voluntary sales pack list were all unpublished as of 12 October 2026, and the 2027 consultation is still the only dated step on qualifications. Our explainer on the property agent Code of Practice covers what the code was meant to do; it now reads as a stepping stone rather than the end point.

The advisory Home Buying and Selling Charter, which the roadmap schedules for 2027 to 2028, is a separate, light-touch document about behaviour in transactions. It is not the regulator's code.

The RoPA lineage: 2018 to 2026

The Regulation of Property Agents working group, chaired by Lord Best, was formed in October 2018 and reported on 18 July 2019. Its recommendations are the closest thing to a blueprint the sector has, and the 29 September announcement tracks them:

  • An independent regulator covering estate agents across the UK and letting and managing agents in England, including auctioneers, rent-to-rent firms, property guardian providers and online agents. Portals such as Rightmove and short-let platforms were excluded.
  • A licence to practise, held and displayed by both the firm and the individual agent. Before granting one, the regulator would check redress scheme membership, receipt of annual audited accounts and a fit-and-proper person test.
  • A list of "reserved activities" that only a licensed agent at a regulated firm may perform.
  • A single overarching code of practice set in statute, with sector-specific regulatory codes underneath.
  • Minimum qualifications at Level 3 of Ofqual's Regulated Qualifications Framework for licensed agents, and Level 4 for company directors and managing agents, with mandatory continuing professional development.
  • Enforcement ranging from warnings to licence revocation and prosecution for unlicensed practice, with appeals to the First-tier Tribunal.

The report sat on the shelf through two governments. The Association of Leasehold Enfranchisement Practitioners said after the conference that the commitment is in line with Lord Best's recommendations. Until a bill appears, RoPA is the best guide to what a licence will require.

Scotland already does this for letting agents

Under Part 4 of the Housing (Scotland) Act 2014, anyone carrying out letting agency work in Scotland must be on the Scottish Letting Agent Register before they can trade. Registration lasts three years. Applicants must pass a fit-and-proper test and meet training requirements set under the Letting Agent Registration (Scotland) Regulations 2016; a qualification more than three years old at application or renewal must be topped up with further training. The Letting Agent Code of Practice came into force on 31 January 2018, and landlords, tenants and Scottish Ministers can take breaches to the First-tier Tribunal for Scotland (Housing and Property Chamber).

Operating unregistered is a criminal offence: up to six months' imprisonment, a fine of up to £50,000, or both. The scope is letting agency work, not sales; Scottish estate agents are not licensed under this regime, whereas the England announcement names estate, letting and management agents together. Our Scottish landlord records guide covers the landlord side of that regime.

Who this applies to, and when

As of 12 October 2026, no agent in England needs a licence to practise. As Dirk Dette of Campions Group noted in The Intermediary, estate agents in England currently have no universal licensing or qualification requirement. Existing duties, including redress scheme membership and the material information rules for listings, are unchanged.

Agents should assume the regime arrives after the 2027 qualifications consultation and through primary legislation, so realistically 2028 or later. That is our reading of the sequence, not a government date. We track each step on the reform timeline.

What agents should record now

A licensing regime is a records regime. The 2019 blueprint ties the licence to evidence: qualifications, CPD, redress membership, accounts, client money arrangements. Transitional recognition of existing qualifications will depend on being able to produce them. Assemble the file now, so that whatever threshold the 2027 consultation sets, the firm can prove where each person stands.

Records you must keep

  • ✓Qualification certificates for every fee-earning member of staff: awarding body, level and date.
  • ✓A CPD log per person: date, provider, hours, topic and evidence of attendance.
  • ✓Professional body membership certificates (Propertymark, RICS or equivalent) and their renewal dates.
  • ✓Redress scheme membership certificate and the complaints log it requires, including outcomes.
  • ✓Client money protection scheme certificate and the client account reconciliations behind it, if the firm holds client money.
  • ✓Annual audited accounts. RoPA proposed these as a licence condition.
  • ✓Material information evidence for every listing: the source document for each Part A, B and C item and the date it was obtained.
  • ✓Fit-and-proper evidence for directors and senior staff: background checks and declarations of conflicts of interest.
  • ✓A written complaints procedure and a staff training record showing who has been trained on it.

What consumers should record

Until licences exist, a buyer, seller, tenant or leaseholder has to check an agent's standing themselves. Keep the agent's terms of business, the name of their redress scheme and any complaint reference, the name of their client money protection scheme if they hold your money, and the listing as it appeared when you offered, with the material information captured. Leaseholders should keep every permission and administration fee demand with its date: the fee cap consultation will be about exactly those charges. Our leasehold documents guide lists what else belongs in the file.

The link to sales packs and digital logbooks

The agent regulator and the upfront information reforms are two halves of the same policy. The June roadmap's sales pack and digital logbook measures change what information moves through a transaction; licensing changes the standards of the people moving it. RoPA's overarching code principles (honesty and integrity, qualified staff, declared conflicts, an effective complaints procedure) map directly onto the duties of an agent assembling a pack.

Expect the regulator's code to require agents to evidence the material information they publish and the pack contents they hand to a buyer. A logbook whose entries carry their source documents is the cleanest way to do that, and for a seller to show the agent was given accurate information. The home buying and selling reform and the licensing regime will, if both are legislated, land on the same transaction file.

Frequently asked questions

Do estate agents in England need a licence now?

No. As of 12 October 2026 there is no licensing requirement for estate, letting or managing agents in England. The government has announced that it will legislate for one, but no bill has been published and no start date has been given.

Who will the regulator be?

Not announced. The government has said an independent regulator will license agents and set codes of practice. Propertymark reports early-stage discussion of an enhanced Building Safety Regulator taking an overarching role, but nothing has been confirmed.

What qualifications will agents need?

Not yet set. The June 2026 roadmap commits to a consultation on mandatory qualifications in 2027. The 2019 Lord Best report recommended Level 3 for licensed agents and Level 4 for directors and managing agents, but the government has not adopted those levels.

Does the announcement cover Scotland?

The government has not said. Scotland already requires letting agents to register, hold training and follow a statutory code under the Housing (Scotland) Act 2014, enforced since 31 January 2018. That regime does not cover sales agents.

What should an agent do before the rules arrive?

Assemble the evidence a licence will almost certainly require: qualification certificates, a CPD log, redress and client money protection membership, audited accounts, and source documents for every piece of material information published. Transitional recognition of existing qualifications will depend on being able to prove them.

Primary sources

PropertymarkLabour Conference 2026: key announcements on leasehold reform and agent regulation, 30 September 2026 Property WireGovernment confirms mandatory licensing for property agents, 29 September 2026 Letting Agent TodayPropertymark to press government over mandatory qualifications, 8 October 2026 GOV.UK (MHCLG)Home Buying and Selling Reform roadmap, updated 19 June 2026 GOV.UK (MHCLG)Regulation of Property Agents: working group report (Lord Best), 18 July 2019 Scottish GovernmentAbout the Scottish Letting Agent Register

Miss a deadline, pay the fine.

One email a week. Every new rule, deadline and record-keeping change that affects you.

Logbook.co.uk is an independent UK publication edited by Jamie Dawson. Guides are checked against current UK legislation and primary sources from gov.uk, HSE, ICO, DVLA, DVSA, CAA and trade bodies. Always confirm against the underlying source before acting. Nothing on this site is legal advice.